Who Was Devi Lal?

What was the promise Devi Lal made?

Answer.: As Chaudhary Devi Lal believed that economy of the country is very much dependent on farming for which he started a movement to which he named “Nyaya Yudh” (struggle for justice).: For this he decided to forgive the loans of the farmers and small businessmen according to his promise if he won elections.

Who was the leader of the Lok Dal in 1987 state assembly election in Haryana?

The newly elected Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of Lok Dal chose Devi Lal as their leader. The Governor invited Devi Lal to be the new Chief Minister. Three days after the election results were declared, he became the Chief Minister.

Was a famous freedom fighter from Haryana who later became the CM of the state?

Bansi Lal became the Chief Minister of Haryana four times in 1968, 1972, 1986 and 1996. He was the third chief minister of Haryana after Bhagwat Dayal Sharma and Rao Birender Singh.

You might be interested:  FAQ: Shri Baglamukhi Devi How To Pronounce?

What was the promise Chaudhary?

Chaudhary Devi Lal was the former chief minister of Haryana. He was also elected as the 6th Deputy Prime Minister of India from 1989–91. He promised all the farmers and small businessmen that he will waive all the loans if he won the election.

What promise Devi Lal made to small farmers?

Devi Lal Said that if his party won the elections, his government would waive the loans of farmers and small businessmen.

Who became deputy PM twice in India?

He occupied the post for 3 years until his death in 1950. The post was vacant until Morarji Desai became the second deputy prime minister in 1967.

Who found a new party Lok Dal?

Indian National Lok Dal
Founder Chaudhary Devi Lal
Founded 1996
Preceded by Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
Headquarters 18, Janpath, New Delhi, India-110011.


Who led the Nyaya YODH?

Chaudhary Devi Lal started Nyaya Yudh movement in Haryana. This was struggle for justice. He formed the party Lokdal, served twice as Chief Minister of Haryana and also served as the Deputy Prime Minister of India.

Who ruled Haryana in 1987?

Chief Ministers of Haryana

No. Name Term of office
(3) Bansi Lal 20 June 1987
(5) Chaudhary Devi Lal 2 December 1989
7 Om Prakash Chautala 22 May 1990


What was the result of the election in Haryana in 1987?


Political Party No. of candidates % of Votes
Lok Dal 69 38.58%
Bharatiya Janata Party 20 10.08%
Indian National Congress 29.18%
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 4 0.78%
You might be interested:  How Many Stairs Are There In Vaishno Devi?

Who is known as Haryana lion?

Chaudhary Devi Lal (born Devi Dayal; 25 September 1915 – 6 April 2001) was an Indian politician who served as 6th Deputy Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1991 in the governments of V. P. Singh and Chandra Shekhar.

Which is the largest district of Haryana?

Area wise the largest district of Haryana is Sirsa while Faridabad is the smallest district. Haryana has four main geographical features: The Yamuna-Ghaggar plain forming the largest part of the state.

Who was the first finance minister of Haryana?

Mool Chand Jain

Babu Mool Chand Jain
Babu Mool Chand Jain (1915–1997)
Born 20 August 1915 SikanderPur Majra, Gohana, Sonepat
Died 12 September 1997 Karnal

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *