Readers ask: Who Is Bidhya Devi Bhandari?

Who is the first vice president of Nepal?

List of vice presidents

Name (Birth–Death) Took office
1 Parmanand Jha (1944–) 23 July 2008
2 Nanda Kishor Pun (1965–) 31 October 2015

Who is the first woman president of Nepal?

The office was created in May 2008 after the country was declared a republic. The first president of Nepal was Ram Baran Yadav. The current president is Bidhya Devi Bhandari, who was first elected in October 2015. She is the first female head of state of Nepal.

How many presidents are there in Nepal?

Presidents of Nepal

Name (Birth–Death) Left office
1 Ram Baran Yadav (1948–) 29 October 2015
2 Bidhya Devi Bhandari (1961–) 14 March 2018
Incumbent (Term expires on 14 March 2023)

When was the president of Nepal elected?

13 March 2018

Candidate Bidhya Devi Bhandari Kumari Laxmi Rai
Party CPN (UML) Congress
Electoral vote 39,275 11,730
Percentage 74.81% 22.34%

Where does the president of Nepal live?

pronunciation (help·info), “Presidential Palace”) is the official residence of the President of Nepal, located in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Rastrapati Bhawan
Location Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal
Current tenants Bidhya Devi Bhandari, President of Nepal
Client Chandra Shumsher JBR
Technical details
You might be interested:  FAQ: How Much Is The Height Of Naina Devi?

Is Nepal one of the poorest countries in the world?

Of the people living in Nepal, 25 percent are living below the poverty line, on 50 cents per day. This makes Nepal one of the poorest countries in the world. Rates of disease, malnutrition and child mortality are high. Fortunately, Nepal has experienced slight economic growth in the past few years.

Why are Gurkhas so brave?

Bravery, loyalty and honour are at the heart of Gurkha culture, as exemplified by their motto, which translates as “better to die than be a coward”. Since 1911, members of the Gurkha regiments have won 13 Victoria Cross medals for exceptional bravery. With bravery also comes sacrifice.

How old is Nepal country?

Nepal, the landlocked multiethnic, multilingual, multi-religious country, is situated north of India in the Himalayas, in the region where, about 40 to 50 million years ago, the Indian subcontinent crashed into Asia.

Who was first king of Nepal?


Period Description
1775 Prithvi Narayan Shah dies, first king of united Nepal.
1814-1816 The Anglo- Nepalese War and the resulting Treaty of Sagauli reduces the territory of Nepal.
1846 Jang Bahadur Rana takes over as prime minister and establishes hereditary Rana rule.
1946 The Nepali Congress Party is founded.


Who is the present Vice Speaker of Nepal?

On 16 March 2018, Dr. Shiva Maya Tumbahamphe was elected as the deputy speaker of the house.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *