Often asked: How To Reach Girija Devi Temple Orissa?

How many Shakti Peethas are there in Odisha?

There are 51 Shakti peethas by various accounts, of which 18 are named as Maha (major) in medieval Hindu texts. 18 Maha Shakti Pithas.

Sr. No. 11
Temple Biraja Temple
Place Jajpur
State in India/Country Odisha
Part of the body fallen Navel


Who is Girija Devi?

The principal idol is Devi Durga, who is worshiped as Viraja ( Girija ), and the temple gave Jajpur the nicknames “Viraja Kshetra” and “Biraja Peetha”. The idol’s crown features Ganesha, a crescent moon and a lingam. The temple covers a large area, and has several shrines to Shiva and other deities.

Where is Siro Gaya?

NABHI GAYA: Gaya in Bihar is considered as Siro Gaya and Pithapur in AP as Pada Gaya and a small shrine in this temple complex as Pada Gaya.

Is Biraja temple open today?

The temple will reopen adhering to Covid-19 guidelines issued by the State Government. The devotees will be allowed for darshan between 6 AM and 5 PM everyday. The move came after the authorities decided to open Jagannath Temple in Puri.

Is Vaishno Devi a Shakti Peeth?

The Vaishno Devi Temple is an important Hindu temple dedicated to Vaishno Devi located in Katra at the Trikuta Mountains within the Indian Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir. The temple is one of the 108 Shakti Peethas dedicated to Durga, who is worshipped as Vaishno Devi.

You might be interested:  FAQ: How To Reach Vaishno Devi Temple From Jammu Tawi Railway Station?

Is Meenakshi Temple a Shakti Peeth?

Is Meenakshi Temple a Shakti Peeth? Yes, Meenakshi Temple is one of the primary Shakti Peeth temples. It is the only temple in India having 4 Rajagopuram (towers).

How many hands does MAA Biraja have?

The goddess is having two hands (dwibhuja).

Who was Gayasura?

Once a demon known as Gayasura, did a heavy penance and sought a boon that whoever sees him should attain salvation (Moksham). To prevent immoral people from attaining salvation Lord Vishnu asked Gayasura to go beneath the earth and did so by placing his right foot on asura’s head.

Who built rajarani Temple?

The Rajarani temple (A.D. 1000-1022) in Bhubaneswar is a splendur in Odish-an architecture. Some historians think that its name was Indresvara or Indralingesvara as per the name its builder lndraratha, an illustrious somavamsi ruler.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *